11 municipalities in El Salvador on alert for dengue

Cases of dengue fever are increasing in La Union where the following municipalities have been affected: Nueva Esparta, Conchagua, Lislique, Anamorós, La Union, Santa Rosa de Lima, El Sauce, San Alejo, Polorós, Meanguera del Golfo and San José de la Fuente.

Travellers to areas where the dengue fever virus is active can reduce their risk of exposure by taking all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Many persons with dengue fever do not seek medical care and are not reported to health authorities. There may be many more cases in the community than the reports indicate.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Dengue Fever.