Chikungunya continues to spread in the Americas

Cases and outbreaks of chikungunya fever continue to be reported by the following countries:

  • Caribbean Islands - Cayman Islands, Curacao, Dominican Republic, Guadeloupe, Puerto Rico, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, US Virgin Islands, British Virgin Islands, Martinique, St Barthelemy, St Martin, Aruba, Barbados, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Maarten, and Turks and Caicos
  • Mexico - Campeche and Chiapas states
  • Central America - Belize, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama
  • South America - Brazil(Bahia, Pernambuco States), Colombia and Venezuela (Guarico and Zulia States)

Some countries have major epidemics, e.g., Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Guadeloupe and El Salvador, while others have only local outbreaks that are just beginning. Travellers to areas where chikungunya fever virus is active can reduce their risk of exposure to this virus by taking all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Many persons with chikungunya fever do not seek medical care and are not reported to health authorities. There may be many more cases in the community that are not reported. Chikungunya virus infections may have long lasting health consequences.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Chikungunya Fever.

Global Monitoring To Keep You Safe While You Travel

Sign up your trip to receive real-time, exclusive travel alerts to help you stay safe while away from home.