Dengue fever in Caribbean resort countries - up date

Many island nations that are tourist destinations continue to report on-gong transmission of the dengue fever virus. Reporting countries include:

Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Montserrat, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia. Trinidad & Tobago, and Turks and Caicos.

The number of cases varies considerably from country to country. Countries with larger populations, e.g., Puerto Rico and Trinidad and Tobago, report hundreds to thousands of infected people. Many of the smaller island nations, e.g., Bermuda and Anguilla, report less than 10 cases.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Dengue Fever.

Advice For Travellers

The absence of reports from other areas does not mean that there is no dengue fever transmission there. The risk of exposure will vary from place to place and may be high in many localities.

All travellers to areas where the dengue fever virus is active can reduce their risk of exposure by taking all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Many persons with dengue fever do not seek medical care and are not reported to health authorities. There may be many more cases in the community than the reports indicate.