Dengue fever occurs in many countries in the Americas

Cases and outbreaks of dengue fever are being reported by the following countries:

Countries reporting between 5,000 and 10,000 or more cases:

  • El Salvador – 9,833 suspected and confirmed cases
  • Guatemala 9.995 suspected and confirmed cases with 2 deaths
  • Honduras - 27,097 cases
  • Mexico – more than 50,600 cases with 6 deaths
  • Nicaragua - more than 12,000 cases
  • Colombia – 52, 508 cases with 33 deaths
  • Peru – more than 44,000 cases with 42 deaths
  • Brazil – more than 1,600,000 suspected and confirmed cases with 630 deaths
  • Paraguay – more than 47,800 suspected and confirmed cases

Countries reporting between 1,000 and 5,000 cases:

  • Argentina – more than 2,800 suspected and confirmed cases
  • Dominican Republic – 2,447 cases with 33 deaths
  • French Guiana – more than 1,000 suspected and confirmed cases

Countries reporting less than 1,000 cases include: Puerto Rico, Aruba, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, St Barthelemy, St Lucia, St Martin.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Dengue Fever.

Advice For Travellers

All travellers to areas where the dengue fever virus is active can reduce their risk of exposure by taking all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Many persons with dengue fever do not seek medical care and are not reported to health authorities. There may be many more cases in the community than the reports indicate.