Dengue fever reported by multiple states in Brazil

Cases, deaths and outbreaks are being reported by the following state:

  • São Paulo - many municipalities affected, including the city of São Paulo, Rio Claro (7, 518 cases), Porto Ferreira, Agual, Pirassununga, Mococa, São João da Boa Vista, São Carlos, Araraquara, Araras, Conchai, Santa Rita do Passa Quatro, Itirapina, Descalvado, Trabiju and Aguas da Prata.
  • Mato Grossa - In 1 month, cases increased from 1,861 to 3,562. Cuiabá is affected.
  • Ceará - 2,365 cases reported by 71 municipalities with 3 deaths in Barbalha, Aquiraz e Maracanaú.
  • Rio Grande do Sul - 66 cases with 1 death
  • Rio Grande do Norte - Dengue declared epidemic; 6,902 cases reported with 6 deaths. The most affected municipalities include Natal, Currais Novos, Parelhas, Parnamirim, Cerro Corá, Acari, Ceará-Mirim and São Gonçalo.
  • Minas Gerais - almost 6,500 cases reported with 5 deaths

Travellers to areas where the dengue fever virus is active can reduce their risk of exposure by taking all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Many persons with dengue fever do not seek medical care and are not reported to health authorities. There may be many more cases in the community than the reports indicate.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Dengue Fever.