Fever checks for people in 8 Ebola quarantined Liberian counties may be a hazard

The Government of Liberia has placed 8 counties under a quarantine and has begun testing citizens moving from one place to another for signs of Ebola by taking their temperatures with oral thermometers. Unless properly sanitized between each use, oral thermometers could potentially transfer saliva bearing virus to the next person, thus possibly spreading the disease. The 8 counties are Bomi, Lofa, Grand Cape Mount, Grand Bassa, Margibi, Montserrado and Grand Gedeh. Travellers should avoid going to these areas to avoid temperature screening with old fashioned oral thermometers.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Ebola Viral Disease.

Global Monitoring To Keep You Safe While You Travel

Sign up your trip to receive real-time, exclusive travel alerts to help you stay safe while away from home.