Nine areas of Dominica declared "special disaster areas"

In Dominica, rescue teams are working to reopen roads to remote communities that are cut off and isolated after tropical storm Erika caused flooding and mudslides. The Government of Dominica declared nine special disaster areas: Petite Savanne, Pichelin, Good Hope, Bath Estate (Paradise Valley), Dubique, Campbell, Coulibistrie, San Sauveur and Petite Soufriere.

Advice For Travellers

Travellers should be aware that power, water and communication services have been restored to roughly 55 percent of the island at this time. Roadways and bridges sustained major damage.

Most of the west coast is reachable up to Roseau to Mero, Roseau to Champaigne and Loubiere to Bellevue in the South, South West and from Roseau through Antrim to Pond Casse through Formel to Castle Bruce through Kalinago Territory to Marigot through to Portsmouth.

Global Monitoring To Keep You Safe While You Travel

Sign up your trip to receive real-time, exclusive travel alerts to help you stay safe while away from home.