Seven provinces on alert for cholera in the Dominican Republic

In the last few weeks, 1,133 people have been infected with cholera and 27 people have died. The country has put these seven provinces on alert for the disease: National District (capital), San Pedro de Macoris, Santo Domingo, Hato Mayor, Santiago, Azua, and Bahoruco.

The National District, San Pedro de Macoris, and Santo Domingo have been the areas that have been most affected.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Cholera.

Advice For Travellers

All travellers can minimize the risk of exposure to this disease. Strictly observe all food and water precautions in any area where there is cholera. If gastrointestinal symptoms (e.g., vomiting and profuse watery diarrhoea) develop while visiting the affected area, travellers should seek medical care at once.