State of Emergency Extended in Five Parishes and St Andrew South Police Division - Jamaica

On 10 December, the House of Representatives extended the States of Public Emergency (SoE) in five parishes and the St Andrew South Police Division for 30 days. The SoE will be in effect until 4 February 2020 in the following areas: St. James, Hanover, Westmoreland, Clarendon, and St. Catherine as well as the St Andrew South Police Division.

Advice For Travellers

Increased police presence and some travel restrictions are expected in the affected areas. A state of emergency allows the police more freedom to conduct searches and seizures, detain persons of interest, and impose curfews without notice. Follow the security advice given by local authorities.