Three countries issue Ebola travel alerts

Three countries, Australia, Canada and USA, have advised their citizens to avoid all but essential travel to Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone due to the current Ebola outbreak.

Travellers should be aware that the World Health Organization has not issued any travel restrictions. The risk of exposure for the traveller is very low unless there is close contact with a person who has Ebola, i.e., caring for an ill person and contacting body fluids such as blood, sweat, vomit, providing health care in the hospital setting, or following cultural traditions to prepare a deceased person for burial. However, travellers with pre-existing health conditions and who might need hospital-based care while travelling may wish to reconsider visiting these countries since their health care facilities may be receiving and treating Ebola patients where exposure might occur.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Ebola Viral Disease.

Global Monitoring To Keep You Safe While You Travel

Sign up your trip to receive real-time, exclusive travel alerts to help you stay safe while away from home.