Twelve Caribbean countries are reporting dengue fever cases

In the Caribbean region, countries that are reporting on-going transmission of the dengue fever virus include Aruba, Barbados, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, Martinique, Monserrat, Puerto Rico, St. Kitts & Nevis, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and US Virgin Islands. The intensity of the transmission varies considerably with some countries reporting sporadic cases while others are reporting outbreaks.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Dengue Fever.

Advice For Travellers

The absence of reports from other countries in the region does not mean that there is no dengue fever transmission there. The risk of exposure will vary from place to place and may be high in many localities.

All travellers to areas where the dengue fever virus is active can reduce their risk of exposure by taking all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Many persons with dengue fever do not seek medical care and are not reported to health authorities. There may be many more cases in the community than the reports indicate.

Global Monitoring To Keep You Safe While You Travel

Sign up your trip to receive real-time, exclusive travel alerts to help you stay safe while away from home.