US immigration policy disrupts travellers worldwide

As a result of new immigration policies in the USA, Emirates and Etihad Airlines have had to deny boarding for a small number of passengers en route to the USA. The airlines are assisting the affected travellers with their flight bookings or refund options for passengers with passports from the seven affected nations, i.e., Sudan, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Iran, Iraq and Yemen.

People from these countries are reported to be able to travel to the US only if they are in possession of a permanent resident card, also known as a green card, or the visas A1 and A2, which are for government officials and immediate family; C2, which is for travel to the United Nations; G1 and G2, which are for representatives and employees of international organisations; and G3 and G4, which are for representatives and employees of international organisations and NATO.

Advice For Travellers

Travellers from the seven affected countries should check with the airlines on which they have booked tickets to the USA.

Global Monitoring To Keep You Safe While You Travel

Sign up your trip to receive real-time, exclusive travel alerts to help you stay safe while away from home.