Yellow Fever: Angola, Democratic Republic of the Congo and Uganda - update

The yellow fever outbreak that began in Angola and spread to the Democratic Republic of the Congo continues, as does the unrelated outbreak in Uganda.

Angola - In spite of a major vaccination campaign, newly infected people are still being reported in Luanda. With more than 3,000 cases and 300 deaths, people have been infected in 14 of the 18 provinces and suspected cases are present in all provinces. Local transmission is present in 7 provinces, in 20 districts; 70 percent of these cases are reported in Luanda province.

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) - most of the reported cases have occurred in Angolans who travelled to the DRC. However, locally acquired cases have occurred in Ndjili and Kinshasa and in Matadi, Kongo Central province.

Uganda - There is virus transmission in 7 districts (in Masaka, Rukungiri and Kalangala).

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Yellow Fever.

Advice For Travellers

The World Health Organization Expert Committee on yellow fever considers the outbreaks in these countries to be serious health risks. All travellers to these countries must have a yellow fever vaccination at least 10 days prior to travelling.