Yellow Fever in West Africa -- summary

Outbreaks of yellow fever in three West African countries (Angola, Democratic Republic of the Congo and Uganda) have not yet been contained.

In Angola, local transmission of the virus continues in Luanda Province as well as 6 other provinces (21 districts). Infected people have been reported in at least 14 of the 18 provinces.

In the Democratic Republic of the Congo, 39 travellers from Angola have been diagnosed with yellow fever.

In Uganda, almost 60 cases have been identified in 3 districts: Masaka, Rukungiri and Kalangala.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Yellow Fever.

Advice For Travellers

The continued transmission of yellow fever virus in crowded urban centres (Luanda and Kinshasa) is considered by the World Health Organization to be a serious health threat.

All travellers to these countries must obtain a yellow fever vaccination 10 days before travelling. In addition, travellers should take all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Travellers are reminded that many other countries require proof of yellow fever vaccination upon arrival for all travellers equal to or greater than 9-12 months of age arriving from a country where there is a risk of yellow fever.