Dengue fever in the Americas - update

The following countries are reporting cases of dengue fever in the Americas:

North America

  • USA, Mexico

Central America

  • Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama


  • American Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Dominica Montserrat, Puerto Rico, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands

South America

  • Argentina, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Dengue Fever.

Advice For Travellers

The absence of reports from other areas does not mean that there is no dengue fever transmission there. The risk of exposure will vary from place to place and may be high in many localities.

All travellers to areas where the dengue fever virus is active can reduce their risk of exposure by taking all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Many persons with dengue fever do not seek medical care and are not reported to health authorities. There may be many more cases in the community than the reports indicate.