Update for 7.8-magnitude earthquake in Ecuador

At least 272 people have been killed and at least 1500 injured in the 7.8 earthquake that hit Ecuador on Saturday. Damage is widespread throughout the country. A state of emergency has been declared in six provinces (Esmereldas, Los Rios, Manabi, Santa Elena, Guayas and Santo Domingo). The hardest-hit area was the Manabi Province. The cities of Manta, Portoviejo and Pedernales, a tourist destination, were the most damaged.

Advice For Travellers

If you are travelling in these areas, follow the instructions of local authorities. Power is gradually being restored. Ecuador’s two largest airports at Quito and Guayaquil are operating.

Global Monitoring To Keep You Safe While You Travel

Sign up your trip to receive real-time, exclusive travel alerts to help you stay safe while away from home.