Zika virus in the Americas - summary

Since the beginning of 2015, Zika virus transmission has been reported in a total of 64 countries and territories worldwide. A total of 42 countries have reported a 1st outbreak of Zika virus. There was no evidence of virus circulating in these countries prior to this time. Thirty-five of these countries are in the Western Hemisphere.

In Latin America and the Caribbean, the affected countries include: Aruba, Barbados, Belize, Brazil (major epidemic), Bolivia,Bonnaire – Netherlands, Colombia (major epidemic), Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti,
Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sint Maarten, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, United States Virgin Islands, and Venezuela.

Visit our Health Library for more information on exposure to and the prevention of Zika Fever.

Advice For Travellers

There is growing scientific consensus that Zika virus infection causes fetal abnormalities (e.g., microcephaly) and Guillain-Barre Syndrome. Travellers to countries that have transmission of this virus should take all necessary precautions to avoid mosquito bites. Women who are pregnant or intending to become pregnant should avoid travelling to these countries, if possible. Otherwise, stringent precautions to avoid mosquito bites should be followed. Persons who develop a neurological illness suggesting Guillain-Barre Syndrome while visiting or after visiting these countries should consult their physician as soon as possible.

Global Monitoring To Keep You Safe While You Travel

Sign up your trip to receive real-time, exclusive travel alerts to help you stay safe while away from home.